Web Activity (Sending Email) in Azure Data Factory

Liangjun Jiang
2 min readApr 4, 2020

--

Lately, I have been using Azure Data Factory (ADF) gently. I kinda like the concept of code-less data engineering ETL (extraction, transformation and loading).

Thanks for being here. I just purchased a beach house at South Padre Island (SPI), TX, and used it as a short term rental property (Airbnb or Vrbo). SPI has the US top 10 beach, and is 7 miles away from SpaceX’s Mars Launch Base. OK, 7-mile is the point to point distance. You can check this house out from my property management’s website: https://spirentals.com/property-info/468183.html . You can also visit my website https://firststr.com for the details about this house and amenities.

On the other hand, since we don’t code, we don’t have too much control how the tool is designed, and how it is supposed to be used, we will need to learn some concepts, logics and Azure services.

In this Azure documentation: Branching and chaining activities in a Data Factory pipeline, I have learned how to send success and failure email once a Copy Activity is one either successfully and failed. The documentation itself didn’t represent the current user interface, but the content is still applicable for most part.

image source: azure document

If your Azure Blob Storage is normal (you create it) and you don’t use self-hosted integration run time, there is no problem to follow along this tutorial. However,

My setup are

  1. we have self-hosted integration runtime
  2. our Azure Blob Storage is also self-managed

I followed the tutorial, and ran into issues “The decryptor is null, please check the compute type and make sure linked service run on right compute.”

I looked at this Web Activity setup, which is different from the documentation, apparently I need to set up a Datasets, a Linked Services, an Integration runtime (there is a default one).

From the error message, I thought my linked service selection is wrong. So I tried to different ways to set up a reasonable Linked Service.

Apparently I couldn’t change my Integration runtime or where our data is stored.

Still not working. I turned to Microsoft Azure Support for the help. It turned out I set up a Datasets which is our self-managed Blob Storage. The Web Activity referred it and tried to access it. It’s the reason the error message like that was thrown.

Actually, you don’t have to set up an dataset, or a Linked service. Just leave it empty. (back to the tutorial documentation itself even though the UI is not updated.)

--

--